BJP Announces Candidates for Rajya Sabha Polls; JP Nadda to Contest from Gujarat, Ashok Chavan from Maharashtra

Estimated read time 2 min read

New Delhi [India], February 14: In a strategic move, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has nominated its national president, JP Nadda, as a candidate for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections from Gujarat, while former Congress leader Ashok Chavan has been fielded from Maharashtra. The latest list of BJP candidates comprises seven nominees, with four from Gujarat and three from Maharashtra.

Gujarat Contingent:
Apart from JP Nadda, the other three BJP candidates from Gujarat are Govindbhai Dholakia, Mayankbhai Nayak, and Dr Jashvantsinh Parmar. This decision stems from the BJP’s attempt to secure the lone seat in the Congress-ruled Himachal Pradesh, where Nadda is currently a Rajya Sabha member.

Maharashtra Nominees:
In Maharashtra, the BJP has nominated Ashok Chavan, who joined the party on Tuesday, a day after resigning from the Congress in the presence of Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. Additionally, Medha Kulkarni and Dr Ajit Gopchhade have been named as party candidates from the state.

National Representation:
Earlier today, the BJP also announced the nominations of Union ministers Ashwini Vaishnaw from Odisha and L Murugan from Madhya Pradesh for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections. This strategic selection is part of the party’s broader plan for representation and influence in key states.

Rajya Sabha Election Schedule:
The Election Commission has scheduled the Rajya Sabha elections for 15 states, including Uttar Pradesh, on February 27. The voting will take place from 9 am to 4 pm on this date, with the deadline for filing nomination papers set for February 15. The results of the elections will be announced on the same day, February 27.

Key Players in BJP’s Nomination Strategy:
On Sunday, the BJP had already revealed 14 candidates for the Rajya Sabha polls, including former Union Minister R P N Singh and party spokesperson Sudhanshu Trivedi. The last day for filing nomination papers is February 15.

The Rajya Sabha has a total strength of 245 members, out of which 233 are representatives of the States and Union territories, and 12 are nominated by the President. These elections are held every two years for 33 percent of the seats, with the term for Rajya Sabha MPs being six years. The upcoming polls are crucial as the tenure of the incumbents is set to end in April.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours