Local News

Rajya Sabha polls | BJP wins 8 seats in 4 States, Congress 5 with Rajasthan performance

Polling for 16 Rajya Sabha seats in four States — Maharashtra, Karnataka, Haryana and Rajasthan — was held on Friday and the results for all four States were declared by early morning on Saturday. In Rajasthan, despite the BJP’s efforts to queer the pitch by fielding an independent candidate backed by the party, the Congress won three seats and the BJP one. In Karnataka, amid cross-voting from two Janata Dal (Secular) legislators, the BJP won three of the four seats and the Congress managed to keep a single seat.

In Haryana, the BJP won one seat and the independent candidate backed by it bagged another. The Congress could not secure a win in the State. The BJP also trumped over Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) alliance in Maharashtra by winning three out of six seats in a fiercely contested battle. In both these States, the counting of votes began after a delay of over eight hours due to complaints and counter-complaints from the opposing camps.

0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *